A growing pattern within the everyday lug ("EDC") area is something called a "knock." Knucks are basically upgraded brass knuckles made to fit 1 or 2 fingers instead of all 4. Also called "knuckles," EDC Knuck is marketed and also bought largely as EDC self-defense tools.
The expanding appeal of knucks, as well as all points EDC, has actually caused loads of small companies to pop up that design, manufacture, and also offer knucks. Instead of looking like the affordable brass knuckles you discover at a flea market, these modernized knucks are often multipurpose (the most usual alteration is a bottle opener) and are made of metals ranging from titanium as well as stainless steel to copper and also aluminum.
While several businesses and individuals describe these imaginative works of art as novelty bottle openers, pocket devices, multi-purpose tools, keychains, and paperweights, at their core, knucks are self-defense tools. Regardless of what you or the person you purchased them from calls them, knucks go through North Carolina's criminal legislation statutes that make it illegal to carry hidden weapons.
Are Brass Knuckles Legal in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, it is unlawful to lug brass knuckles if they are lugged hidden. See N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-269. This applies to all sorts of metal knucks or knuckles regardless of the number of fingers they fit. This statute does deficient prohibit someone having brass knuckles or lugging them hidden by themselves properties.
If you're in North Carolina and also are carrying among these metal knucks, EDC pocket devices, or novelty bottle screws in your pocket (or elsewhere concerning your person who conceals the weapon), then you are unlawfully lugging a hidden weapon. This holds true even if you actually have a hidden handgun permit because such an authorization applies to handguns, not various other weapons like knucks. See N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.10 et. seq
Anybody found guilty of carrying a weapon such as brass knuckles in a hidden fashion in violation of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-269(a) will be guilty of a Course 2 violation. A Course 2 offense offers an optimum charge of 60 days behind bars and a $1,000 fine.
If you have been charged with carrying a hidden weapon in Winston-Salem or other bordering county in North Carolina, get in touch with Allman Spry today to arrange an examination with a dedicated North Carolina criminal defense lawyer.